Working Group for Microbiology Standards in Clinical Bacteriology Membership

The role of the Bacteriology Working Group chaired by Riina Richardson is to recommend and present good microbiology standards consistent with current good practice that will ensure an acceptable standard of working for bacteriology investigations in the UK.

Chair:

Dr Riina Rautemaa-Richardson

UK SMI Team:

Ruhi Siddiqui Head of Standards Unit

Rina Shah Desai Standards Microbiologist

Shahmeen Ali Healthcare Research Scientist

Zainab Sebbar Healthcare Scientist

Members:

Dr Andrew Sails Applied Microbiology International

Dr Claire Alexander Scottish Microbiology and Virology Network

David Jordan Scottish Microbiology and Virology Network

Dr Deborah E. A. Lockhart Association of Clinical Oral Microbiologists

Karen Reynolds UK Health Security Agency Kenny Vaughan Lay representative

Dr Lewis White British Society for Medical Mycology

Linda Mulhern Scottish Microbiology and Virology Network

Lim Jones Public Health Wales

Dr Matthijs Backx British Society for Medical Mycology

Mark Prescott United Kingdom Accreditation Service

Dr Natasha Ratnaraja British Infection Association

Dr Penny Cliff The Association for Clinical Biochemistry and Laboratory Medicine

Phillipa Burns The British Society for Antimicrobial Chemotherapy

Philip Lewis Public Health Wales

Prof Rachel Chalmers British Society for Parasitology

Dr Rohinton Mulla No Partner Organisation

Sally Lowe British Society for Microbial Technology

Dr Sayed Bukhari No Partner Organisation

Shanine Mitchell Institute of Biomedical Science Shila Seaton United Kingdom National External Quality Assessment Service

Dr Silke Schelenz United Kingdom Clinical Mycology Network

Dr Tanya Curran Northern Ireland Microbiology Forum and Audit Group

Co-opted members:

Dr Rebecca Gorton