



RCPath/IBMS Histopathology Reporting Conjoint Board

Terms of Reference

Purpose

- 1. To further advance the practice of biomedical scientists in histopathology reporting.
- 2. To devise and implement a training and assessment process for biomedical scientists to undertake histopathology reporting

Constitution

The Conjoint Board is a joint committee of the Institute of Biomedical Science (IBMS) and the Royal College of pathologists (RCPath). It is accountable to the RCPath and IBMS Councils through their respective committee governance structures – the Education and Professional Standards Committee of the IBMS and the Cellular Pathology SAC of the RCPath.

The Board consists of ten members (five each from the IBMS and RCPath) including a Chair and Deputy Chair, with the membership nominated by the respective organisations. The Chair of the Board will be elected by the members of the Conjoint Board. The Chair and Deputy Chair roles will alternate between the IBMS and the RCPath with the Deputy Chair automatically assuming the role of Chair.

The term of office for ordinary members of the Board is three years, with the option of continuing for a maximum of another three year period. The Chair will be elected for a fixed three year term.

The Board will normally meet four times during the committee year.

A minimum of five Board members must be present for the meeting to have a quorum. If less than this number is present, notes, rather than minutes, of the proceedings will be taken and recommendations made to the absent members for subsequent discussion or Chairman's action.

The Conjoint Board may co-opt additional members with specific areas of expertise as required.

Administrative and executive support will be provided key members of the senior management teams of both organisations.





The RCPath and IBMS will be responsible for the expenses of their respective representatives.

Key responsibilities

- 1. To determine the strategy for the training and assessment of competencies of participants through examination and other appropriate processes
- 2. To ensure learning outcomes meet the needs of service and the expectations of the role.
- 3. To maintain and develop the curriculum, guidance and associated documentation required to deliver and monitor the training
- 4. To identify the histopathology subspecialties suitable for the development of a training curriculum for biomedical scientist reporting and make recommendations to the Councils of the IBMS and RCPath for approval.
- 5. To ensure comparability of standards with RCPath medical histopathology reporting examinations through liaison with the RCPath Directors of Training and Assessment and of Examinations via the Head of Educational Standards.
- 6. To regularly review the Terms of Reference, curriculum, associated documentation and examination process to ensure that they are up to date and meets the needs of the Board and profession and the strategic aims of both organisations.
- 7. Regularly review and assess the risks faced by the Board in all areas of work and plan for the management of those risks.
- 8. To develop and recommend an evaluation strategy to assess the impact of the qualification on the histopathology workforce and service delivery.





RCPath/IBMS Histopathology Reporting Conjoint Board Membership

As at the 1 July 2021 the Conjoint Board consisted of the following members

RCPath Membership

The College is currently represented on the Board by:

- Dr Gerry Van Schalkwyk (Chair of Conjoint Board)
- Dr Bryan Green
- Dr Akhtar Husain
- Dr Angus McGregor

Ms Jo Brinklow (Director of Learning) also attends the meeting to ensure there is a link between the Board and the examination team at the College.

Institute of Biomedical Science (IBMS) membership

The IBMS is currently represented on the Board by:

- Mr Andy Usher (Deputy Chair of Conjoint Board)
- Dr Guy Orchard
- Dr Jo Horne
- Mr Patrick Kumah
- Mr David Muskett

Mr Sarah May (IBMS Deputy Chief Executive) and Mr Chris Ward (IBMS Head of Examinations) also attend the meetings. Mr Ward is responsible for the administration of the Conjoint Board.