## National Quality Assurance Advisory Panel – Chemical Pathology

## Annual report, August 2011-August 2012

## Membership

Dr Patrick Twomey [Chair]

Dr David James [ex officio, previous chair]

Dr Bill Simpson [ACP Representative, Vice Chair]

Dr Loretta Ford [ACB Representative, Vice Chair]

Mr Darren Ames [IBMS Representative]

Dr Berenice Lopez [Co-opted member]

Ms. Rachel Still [Co-opted member]

In addition to electronic communication, the Chemical Pathology Panel meets regularly by means of face to face meetings and telephone conferences as appropriate. At these meetings, performance reports from each of the EQA schemes reporting to the Panel are reviewed.

The Chemical Pathology Panel differs significantly from other Panels in that it has relationships with a number of EQA providers. For example, 5 different schemes offer Paracetamol and Salicylate EQA. In addition, the Chemical Pathology Panel covers the largest number of individual analytes (c1200).

The Chemical Pathology Panel aims to achieve equivalence between EQA schemes for the detection of poor performance and persistent poor performance. The Panel therefore continues to develop the convergence of EQA performance criteria through the Minimum Analytical Performance Standards (MAPS) agenda. This included a meeting in November 2011 between the Panel, major EQA scheme providers, and industry representatives at BIVDA. Some EQA schemes have now rolled out MAPS for Cholesterol, Creatinine, Glucose, HbA1c and HDL-C.

Plans for the next 12 months include developing working relationships with the MHRA, BIVDA and UKAS. To increase the awareness of its role, the Panel is increasing its visibility by means of presentations at EQA User Group and Professional Society meetings and so forth.