UK SMI Steering Committee membership

The role of the Steering Committee chaired by Dr Albert Mifsud is to recommend and endorse NICE accredited microbiology standards. The Committee is also responsible for the strategic direction of UK SMI development. The Committee oversees working groups who are responsible for the laboratory, clinical and public health input to the UK SMIs. The working groups work with the Standards Unit and are accountable to the Steering Committee.

Chair:

Dr Albert Mifsud (Consultant Microbiologist, Barts Health NHS Trust and Interim Clinical Lead, London Public Health Laboratory)

UK SMI Team:

Ruhi Siddiqui Head of Standards Unit

Rina Shah Desai Standards Microbiologist

Shahmeen Ali Healthcare Research Scientist

Zainab Sebbar Healthcare Scientist

Members:

Dr Alison Watt Chair of the UK SMI Virology/Serology Working Group Northern Ireland Microbiology Forum and Audit group

Prof. Angharad Davies Microbiology Society

Dr Chris Settle Healthcare Infection Society

Deborah Lockhart Association of Clinical Oral Microbiologists

lan Cocking
Institute of Biomedical Science

Jonathan Turner
UK Health Security Agency

Dr Justin Pachebat British Society for Parasitology Dr Katie Jeffery British Infection Association

Kenworth Vaughan Lay representative

Lewis White

British Society for Medical Mycology

Dr Lim Jones

Public Health Wales

Prof Mark Fielder

Applied Microbiology International

Mark Prescott

United Kingdom Accreditation Service (UKAS)

Dr Mark Wilks

Society for Anaerobic Microbiology, the Association for Clinical Biochemistry and Laboratory Medicine and British Society for Microbial Technology

Dr Martin Connor

Scottish Microbiology & Virology Network

Dr Matthijs Backx

British Society for Medical Mycology

Dr Michael Weinbren

Royal College of Pathologists

Dr Michael Lockhart

Public Health Scotland

Phil Lewis

Welsh Microbiological Association

Dr Priya Khanna

Royal College of Pathologists

Dr Riina Rautemaa-Richardson

Chair of the UK SMI Bacteriology Working Group

Dr Roger Gibb

Lay representative

Dr Silke Schelenz

UK Clinical Mycology Network

Dr Tessa Lewis

Royal College of General Practitioners

Dr Tim Wyatt Northern Ireland Public Health Agency