Spring 2021 Examination Dates

Applications will open in the last week of November 2020 and close Friday 8 January 2021. The withdrawal deadline is Friday 5 February. The examination period will be from Monday 22 March to Friday 30 April. 

Results will be issued on Friday 21 May and Friday 4 June. Please see your confirmation email for which results date applies to your exam.

The following documents contain information regarding the delivery methods for the Spring 2021 exams and some frequently asked questions. All candidates must read both documents to familiarise themselves with the delivery method of the exam:

While we aim to have all exam dates finalised ahead of the closing deadline, for some examinations this will be dependent on the number of candidates and so the dates for these may only finalised after the application closing date. Once known, dates will be published below:

Certificates and Diplomas

  • Certificate in Medical Genetics: Monday 22 March
  • Certificate of Higher Autopsy Training (CHAT): Friday 23 April
  • Combined Infection Certificate (CICE): Thursday 6 May*
  • Dermatopathology Diploma (written): Friday 26 March

Part 1 

  • Clinical Biochemistry Part 1: Monday 22 March
  • Haematology Part 1: Friday 26 March
  • Histopathology Part 1: Monday 29 March
  • Infection Part 1: Thursday 6 May*
  • Medical Microbiology and Virology Part 1: Thursday 6 May*
  • Oral Pathology Part 1: Friday 26 March
  • Toxicology Part 1: Friday 26 March
  • Transfusion Science Part 1: Friday 26 March
  • Veterinary Clinical Pathology Part 1: Friday 26 March

Part 2

  • Clinical Biochemistry Part 2 Module 1: Friday 30 April
  • Clinical Biochemistry Part 2 Module 2: Monday 26 (Oral) and Tuesday 27 (Paper 3) April
  • Clinical Biochemistry Part 2 Oral: Monday 26 April
  • Haematology Part 2: Wednesday 14, Thursday 15, and Friday 16 April
  • Histocompatibility & Immunogenetics Part 2 Practical: Tuesday 23 March
  • Histocompatibility & Immunogenetics Part 2 Oral: Wednesday 7 April
  • Histopathology Part 2: Tuesday 13 and Wednesday 14 April
  • Medical Microbiology Part 2: Tuesday 20 (Paper 3 & OSPE), Wednesday 21 (OSPE verbal stations), and Thursday 22 (Paper 1 & 2) April
  • Paediatric Pathology Part 2: Monday 19 to Thursday 22 April
  • Virology Part 2: Wednesday 21 (OSPACE 1 & 2) and Thursday 22 (Paper 1 & 2) April

*Please note that due to examiner availability, these dates fall outside the usual examination period