4 January 2021

College members were among those named in the Queen’s New Year Honours for 2021.

The Honours are awarded to recognise the outstanding achievements of people across the United Kingdom.

The following College members were awarded the Medal of the Order of the British Empire (OBE).

  • Dr  Elaine Anne Cloutman-Green - Principal Clinical Scientist,  Infection Prevention and Control and Joint Trust Lead Healthcare Scientist,  Great Ormond Street Hospital NHS Foundation Trust. For services to Healthcare
  • Professor  Kristian Bowles  - Consultant Haematologist and Associate Medical Director of Research and  Innovation, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.  For services to the NHS during Covid-19
  • Dr  Sharran Louise Grey  - Haematology Consultant Clinical Scientist,  Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and Principal Clinical  Scientist, Bolton NHS Foundation Trust.  For services to Blood Transfusion
  • Lieutenant Colonel Emma Jane Hutley, Royal Army Medical Corps

College member, Shico Visuvanathan, Consultant Microbiologist and Director of Infection Prevention and Control, Princess Alexandra NHS Trust, has been awarded an Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (MBE) for services to microbiology, infection prevention and control, particularly during the COVID-19 response.

Dr Mike Osborn, President, The Royal College of Pathologists said:  

`I am delighted to see College members recognised in this year’s honours list. I would like to offer my congratulations and to thank them for their outstanding work, dedication and commitment in what has been an exceptionally difficult year. They are is a credit to the pathology profession.'