22 May 2023

After its successful launch in February, the All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) for Diagnostics will hold its second meeting on 24 May at Portcullis House.

Chaired by Maggie Throup MP, members of the APPG and invited guests will hear from Professor Peter Johnson, NHSE National Clinical Director for Cancer, on the importance of early diagnosis and the role of diagnostic services in improving patient outcomes.

Following Peter Johnson’s presentation, attendees will also hear from Dr Katharine Halliday, President of the Royal College of Radiologists, Professor Mike Osborn, President of the Royal College of Pathologists, and representatives from the wider diagnostics sector and from health charities.

Parliamentarians and guests will also have the opportunity to ask Professor Johnson and other panel members questions and raise issues relating to cancer diagnostics.

Professor Peter Johnson is Professor of Medical Oncology at the University of Southampton. He was Chief Clinician for Cancer Research UK for ten years where he established pilot work in genomic analysis for cancer patients. He co-chaired the CRUK/Royal College of GPs Cancer Clinical Priority Group. He is currently Chair of the Royal College of Physicians/Association of Cancer Physicians joint specialty committee on medical oncology. He was appointed CBE for services to cancer research in 2016.

Together with the Royal College of Radiologists, the Royal College of Pathologists runs he secretariat for the APPG.

The role of the APPG for Diagnostics is to highlight the value of diagnostics, promote the diagnostic workforce, and improve diagnostic services by raising awareness of the barriers and solutions to optimising the early and swift diagnosis of diseases, illnesses, and injuries.

APPG for Diagnostics members: 

  • Maggie Throup MP, Chair
  • Lord Bethell
  • Elliot Colburn MP (Cons, Carshalton and Wallington)
  • Tim Farron MP (Lib Dem, Westmorland)
  • Sir Oliver Heald MP (Cons, North East Hertfordshire)
  • Grahame Morris MP (Labour, Easington) • Mary Robinson MP (Conservative, Cheadle) 
  • Jim Shannon MP (DUP, Strangford)