Northern Ireland Regional Council

The role of the Northern Ireland Regional Council members is to provide professional leadership in the region and contribute at a national level to the maintenance and development of pathology services and the quality of care that patients receive. Members create influential linkages with the local stakeholders and build strong relationships with other key decision-makers to ensure that the College has a valued voice. They also filter and amplify relevant information for the College and communicate this information back to the College on a regular basis. 

Northern Ireland Regional Council members

  • Professor Ken Mills

    Chair, Northern Ireland Regional Council (Elected 2016-2021) - term extended

  • Dr Ali Ben-Mussa

    Trainee Representative (Histopathology) - Observer

  • Dr Angel Boulos

    Elected 2018-2021 (Medical Microbiology)

  • Dr Grainee Connolly

    Observer (Regional Specialty Adviser for Chemical Pathology)

  • Dr Jeremy Hamilton

    Elected 2018-2021 (Haematology)

  • Dr Shirley Heggarty

    Elected 2016-2020 (Molecular Genetics - Clinical Scientist) - term extended

  • Dr Elizabeth Hodges

    Elected 2019-2022 (Immunology - Clinical Scientist)

  • Dr Gareth McKeeman

    Elected 2017-2020 (Clinical Biochemistry - Clinical Scientist)

  • Dr Melanie Percy

    Co-opted member 2017-2020 (Haematology - Clinical Scientist)

  • Dr Brona Roberts

    Elected 2016-2020 (Clinical Biochemistry) - term extended

  • Dr Michael Ryan

    Elected 2019-2022 (Northern Ireland Pathology Network)

  • Dr Ian Wilson

    Elected 2016-2020 (Medical Microbiology - Clinical Scientist) - term extended