BMS Examinations - Histopathology Reporting

The Stage A and C BMS examinations are for candidates in Stage A or C of the RCPath/IBMS Advanced Specialist Diploma in Histopathology Reporting.

The examination is designed to test a candidate’s applied knowledge and skills relevant to the curriculum. Candidates should be familiar with the curriculum.

Candidates must be registered with the Institute of Biomedical Science (IBMS) before applying for the Stage A examination.


Examination dates for 2020 are as follows:

Stage A: Friday 5 June (Bristol). Applications will open Monday 13 April and close Thursday 23 April.

Stage C: Tuesday 13 and Wednesday 14 October (location TBC). Applications will open Friday 10 July and close Friday 24 July.

Examination Format

Examination format

Stage A Examination

Stage C Examination

For further information and the curriculum, please see the IBMS website.