Technical EQA

A two year programme has been produced with the aim to develop a robust framework for the system wide governance and oversight of external quality assurance (EQA) to ensure high standards in quality management, embed patient safety into pathology, ensure excellence in pathology output and support safe, high quality patient care across the health service. In addition, the programme aims to produce a sustainable funding mechanism from financial contributions from the relevant EQA scheme providers, based on openness, transparency and fairness.

We will achieve this by concentrating on 4 objectives which comprise the delivery plan.

  • Developing and implementing a robust multi-stakeholder governance and assurance framework incorporating new developments in systems governance, pathology service provision and External Quality Assurance.
  • Agreeing and implementing a consistent approach to identifying and responding to poor performance. 
  • Developing systems, practices and policies to share learning relating to quality management, continuous quality improvement and assurance of pathology results with service providers, manufacturers, professional societies and oversight bodies. 
  • Strengthening collaboration with our external/regulatory partners across health services in the UK 

EQA Oversight Board

The EQA Oversight Board provides a collective oversight and assurance to the work identified and scrutinised by the EQA Stakeholders Forum and co-ordinates the delivery of the agreed  objectives. A major area of work overseen by the EQA Oversight Board is the delivery  plan which defines the workstreams that will operationalise the agreed  objectives.  The EQA Oversight Board meets 3-4 times a year.

EQA Stakeholders Forum

The EQA Stakeholders Forum is a multi-stakeholder group and provides the scrutiny function to ensure that the work and priorities have users’ interests and perspectives at the centre. It has representation from the following members:

Dr Berenice Lopez - (Chair (and Chair of JWGQA))
Prof Peter Johnston - (Vice Chair)
Dr Barbara de la Salle - (UKNEQAS)
Dr Finlay MacKenzie - (UKNEQAS Chem Path)
Dr Ros Hastings - (GenQA)
Dr Karen Morgan - (LGCG)
Mr Liam Whitby - (UKNEQAS)
Dr Allan Wilson - (IBMS)
Mr Dean Moull - (PHE)
Dr Annette Thomas - (WEQAS)
Dr Mark Gompels - (NQAAP Immunology)
Prof Ian Frayling - (ACP)
Prof Bryan Woodward - (NQAAP Reproductive Science)
Dr Glenda Horne - (NQAAP Microbiology)
Dr Stephen Doherty - (RIQAS)
Dr Phillip Monaghan - (NQQAP Chemical Pathology)
Dr Jack Whitewood - (DEQAS)
Mr Chris Jelley - (Lay Representative)
Revd. Dr Gordon Sinclair - (NQAAP Haematology)
Dr Shonagh Haslam - (ACB)
Dr Sian Morgan - (NQAAP Genetics)
Dr Gareth McKeeman - (Northern Ireland Regional Council)
Dr Bernie Croal -  (Chair, Scotland Regional Council)
Dr Deborah Pritchard - (Wales Regional Council)
Dr Sharon Fensome-Rimmer - (HFEA)
Dr Elaine McCulloch - (QCMD)
Mr Martin Stearn (UKAS)
Dr Paul Barrett - (NQAAP Cellular Pathology)
Professor Sandi Deans  - (NHS England & Improvement)
Mrs Katy Heaney - (QPoint)
Mr David Baulch - (QPoint)
Dr Simon Patton - (EMQN)
Ms Katherine Timms - (RCPath)
Mrs Hoomairah Atchia-Rawat - (RCPath)
Mr Shane Johns - (RCPath)


Latest news